March 15, St Clement Maria (Klemens Maria) Hofbauer

March 15
In the Archdioceses of Kraków and Warszawa, and Diocese of Warszawa-Praga
SAINT CLEMENT MARIA HOFBAUER, PRESBYTER
Obligatory memorial

Clement was born in Moravia in 1751. Even as a child he wished to become a priest, but the poverty of his family hindered his education; he thus worked in various professions. In 1784 in Rome he entered the Congregation of Redemptorists. He founded the monastery by St Benon Church in Warsaw and for 21 years he developed chaplaincy and educational work there, which made him known as the apostle of Warsaw. After the dissolution of the institution and removal of Redemptorists, he worked in Vienna, where he died in 1820.

Common of of Pastors.

OFFICE OF READINGS

SECOND READING

From Letter by Saint Clemens to the nuncio in Vienna
(16 December 1803; Mon. Hofb. 4, 14-15)
Only the good of the Church and salvation of souls trouble my heart

God is my witness that along with my brothers I do not evade any toil or effort in the persistent work for the glory of God to serve the Church in the salvation of souls. However, I need a place where I could gather my fellow workers and prepare them for the apostolic mission. From the depth of my soul I desire to give myself to Christ, our Redeemer, and to the souls saved by His Most Precious Blood. For I can see how the position of Christian people worsens and how evil spreads, partly because there is a shortage of God’s servants, and there are also such that do disservice to Christ’s flock.
I, on the other hand, do not seek my own merits, for were I to seek them, should I not have stayed in Warsaw, among my fellow brethren, seeing to their work and rejoicing with them? Advanced in years as I am, I would not risk my health being exposed to changing weather, suffering hunger and penury, and having various trouble.
Save me, God, from searching and desiring my own comforts. The glory of God, the good of the Church and salvation of souls, which are currently so threatened, these only trouble my heart. Moreover, I consistently beg the King of Heaven to predispose the hearts of those to whom He himself gave authority. [1]

RESPONSORY 1 Thessalonians 2:8; Galatians 4:19

With such affection for you, we were determined to share with you not only the gospel of God, but our very selves as well,
So dearly beloved had you become to us.

My children, for whom I am again in labor until Christ be formed in you.
So dearly beloved had you become to us.

 MORNING  PRAYER

CANTICLE OF ZECHARIAH

Ant. I have made myself a slave to all so as to win over as many as possible.

CONCLUDING PRAYER

O  most merciful God,
out of love for your people, you endowed Saint Clemens with zeal for people’s salvation
and through him you announced the kingdom of your grace.
grant, through his intercession, that we may retain the faith he taught,
and follow the path of commandments that he showed us with the example of his life,
Through our Lord Jesus Christ, your Son,
who lives and reigns with you in the unity of the Holy Spirit,
one God, for ever and ever.
Amen.

EVENING  PRAYER

CANTICLE OF MARY

Ant. This is the faithful and prudent steward whom the Lord has put in charge of his servants to distribute food allowance at the proper time.


[1] Translated by DChojnacki (2014).

Leave a Reply

