June 25, Bl Dorothea of Montau (Dorota z Mątowów)

June 25
In the Archdiocese of Gdańsk
BLESSED DOROTHEA of MONTAU (DOROTA z MĄTOWÓW)
Optional memorial
In the Dioceses of Warmia and Elbląg – Obligatory memorial

Blessed Dorothea was born in Great Montau (Mątowy Wielkie) in 1347. As a young woman she was wedded and gave birth to 9 children. Being a precautious housewife, she consistently strove for Christian perfection. After her husband’s death, she went to Kwidzyn to get spiritual guidance from the renowned theologian Johannes of Marienwerder. Having his permission, she established a hermit’s cell against the wall of the cathedral and devoted her life to prayer and penance. She died on 25 June 1394.

Common of Holy Women.

OFFICE OF READINGS

 SECOND READING

From a letter by Blessed Dorothea, Widow, being willingly closed down, to her daughter Gertrude, a Benedictine nun in Chełmno
(Report on Cult and Virtues)
Do not follow a broad path

My beloved only Daughter! Remember about the works that our Lord Jesus performed in you and in me. May you never forget Him. Call him and say:

Jesus Christ, My Lord, here you come to me in your Majesty. Grant that my soul may be constantly growing in recognising you perfectly. Prepare and strengthen my will so that I may willingly and eagerly, with joy and courage, fulfil your most precious will at any moment. Enlighten my soul’s memory and take it over.

Grant that my soul’s hearing may attentively accept your Divine inspirations and lessons. Give my soul’s eyes a new light so that I may see you clearly and reflect upon you.

Enlighten my soul and purify it with your grace, with the three theological virtues along with the four cardinal virtues, and the seven gifts of the Holy Ghost, the eight Beatitudes and complete perfection so that I may be obedient to you at any time.

My sweetest Lord, grant my soul the sense of spiritual smell, too, so that justice and virtue may smell pleasant to me and injustice, fault and sins may give off offensive odour.

Give my soul, my dearest Lord, spiritual taste so that the spiritual goods, holy and virtuous objects, especially your Commandments and orders were sweet for me and sinful life, trespassing against your Commandments, non-spiritual and unholy life were truly bitter.

My sweetest Lord Jesus Christ, grant my soul the grace to feel and reflect upon the wounds of sins, their evil and destructive consequences. May my soul avoid all of this and my body similarly avoid material evil and damage.

Make my soul find spiritual progress, goodness and benefit so that it may grow in grace and love thanks to the help of the Father, the Son, and the Holy Ghost. Amen.

You ought to be saddened that you have not yet got to know God fully. You ought to be saddened that you have not yet be led by His will. You ought to be saddened that you still do not possess holy fear and glory and that you have many a time yielded to sin. Beware of leading worldly life in the convent. You have put aside the robes of the world, put aside the worldly heart, too. Mortify and destroy the flesh that yearns to stand against our Lord and against your soul.

Beg our beloved Lord, day and night, to liven and strengthen all that pleases Him in you. My beloved Daughter! You ought to solely love our Lord as His bride and praise only Him. May your memory and sight constantly look for him. Then you shall be able to learn of His likings and say a lot of His goodness. Take care of yourself and avoid the evil. Do not follow a broad path. Cling to our beloved Lord so that you may follow the narrow path that leads to the eternal life.[1]

RESPONSORY cf Luke 10:42; 39

There is need of only one thing.
She has chosen the better part and it will not be taken from her.

Sitting beside the Lord at his feet, she listened to him speak.
She has chosen the better part and it will not be taken from her.

CONCLUDING PRAYER

O God, the Source of all graces,
with fatherly care you hear all that call for your mercy,
with the intercession of Blessed Dorothea, help us in our needs so that your grace that is given to us on earth, may bring forth the fruit of the eternal life in heaven.
Through our Lord Jesus Christ, your Son,
who lives and reigns with you in the unity of the Holy Spirit,
one God, for ever and ever.
Amen.

[1] Translated by DChojnacki (2014).

Leave a Reply

