August 13, Our Lady of Kalwaria (Najświętszej Maryi Panny Kalwaryjskiej)

August 13
OUR LADY of KALWARIA
In the Archdiocese of Kraków – Feast
In Kalwaria Zebrzydowska – Solemnity

In 1602 the Kraków Voivode Mikołaj Zebrzydowski founded a sanctuary comprising a group of churches and chapels dedicated to Christ’s Passion. People reflect upon Stations of the Cross there, as well as the mysteries of the Sorrowful Mother’s co-suffering and her dormition and assumption. Since 1641 in Kalwaria Zebrzydowska there has been a highly revered painting of the Sorrowful Mother. It was crowned ceremoniously in 1887 by Cardinal Dunajewski.

[PDF Version]

EVENING PRAYER I
(In Kalwaria Zebrzydowska)

HYMN

Welcome, O Mother, pure and caring,
Among the choirs of immaculate virgins,
You who bear the price of redemption
To the whole world.

How joyous, how full of grace
You are called, Mother of great power;
Only you gave peace and salvation
To the refugees.

You suffered much for Jesus,
And willingly accepted the day of earthly departure;
Now you reign with your Son
Above stars.

Look, O Lady, from the heights of heaven:
The world has threatened us with wicked storm;
Come to our aid, show us a safe harbour,
Lead us ashore.

Praise and glory to the Holy Trinity
Homage and thanks for Mother’s care
Who gives her children here
With all the good. Amen.

Ant. 1 Christ is our peace, through the cross he reconciled us with God.

Psalms and Canticles from Common of the Blessed Virgin Mary.

Ant. 2 Remember that I stood before you to intercede for my people so that your wrath may be averted.

Ant. 3 I will rejoice thanks to my people; no more shall I hear cries and complaints.

READING 2 Timothy 2:10-12

I bear with everything for the sake of those who are chosen, so that they too may obtain the salvation that is in Christ Jesus, together with eternal glory. This saying is trustworthy: If we have died with him we shall also live with him; if we persevere we shall also reign with him.

RESPONSORY

Most Blessed Virgin,
Obtain salvation for us.

Through the Passion of Christ, your Son.
Obtain salvation for us.

Glory to the Father, and to the Son, and to the Holy Spirit,
Most Blessed Virgin, obtain salvation for us.

CANTICLE OF MARY

Ant. Mary, our Advocate, is chosen from among people as the firstfruits for God and the Lamb, blemishless she stands before God’s throne.

INTERCESSIONS from Common of the Blessed Virgin Mary.

CONCLUDING PRAYER

O Almighty and eternal God,
you gave Blessed Virgin Mary to Christ to help him in the work of our redemption,
grant gracefully that we, reflecting on the paschal mysteries of the Lord, may be given, through Mary’s intercession, graces that we humbly ask for.
Through our Lord Jesus Christ, your Son,
who lives and reigns with you in the unity of the Holy Spirit,
one God, for ever and ever.
Amen.

INVITATORY

Ant. Let us praise Christ the Redeemer, who gave us Mary as our Mother.

Invitatory psalm as in Ordinary.

OFFICE OF READINGS

HYMN

At the Cross her station keeping,
stood the mournful Mother weeping,
close to her Son to the last.

Through her heart, His sorrow sharing,
all His bitter anguish bearing,
now at length the sword has passed.

O how sad and sore distressed
was that Mother, highly blest,
of the sole-begotten One.

Christ above in torment hangs,
she beneath beholds the pangs
of her dying glorious Son.

Is there one who would not weep,
whelmed in miseries so deep,
Christ’s dear Mother to behold?

Can the human heart refrain
from partaking in her pain,
in that Mother’s pain untold?

For the sins of His own nation,
She saw Jesus wracked with torment,
All with scourges rent:

She beheld her tender Child,
Saw Him hang in desolation,
Till His spirit forth He sent.

Christ, when Thou shalt call me hence,
be Thy Mother my defense,
be Thy Cross my victory.

Ant. 1 Mary of unblemished hands and pure heart, having been assumed, begs for God’s mercy

Psalms from Common of the Blessed Virgin Mary.

Ant. 2 May God bless you, field of justice, O Holy Mountain.

Ant. 3 The foundations of our hope on the holy mountain.

Mary kept all these things,
Reflecting on them in her heart.

FIRST READING

From the book of the prophet Isaiah 2:2-5; 25:6-10; 26:1-9

All the nations shall stream toward the Lord’s mountain

In days to come, The mountain of the LORD’S house shall be established as the highest mountain and raised above the hills. All nations shall stream toward it; many peoples shall come and say: “Come, let us climb the LORD’S mountain, to the house of the God of Jacob, That he may instruct us in his ways, and we may walk in his paths.” For from Zion shall go forth instruction, and the word of the LORD from Jerusalem. He shall judge between the nations, and impose terms on many peoples. They shall beat their swords into plowshares and their spears into pruning hooks; One nation shall not raise the sword against another, nor shall they train for war again. O house of Jacob, come, let us walk in the light of the LORD!

On this mountain the LORD of hosts will provide for all peoples A feast of rich food and choice wines, juicy, rich food and pure, choice wines. On this mountain he will destroy the veil that veils all peoples, The web that is woven over all nations; he will destroy death forever. The Lord GOD will wipe away the tears from all faces; The reproach of his people he will remove from the whole earth; for the LORD has spoken. On that day it will be said: “Behold our God, to whom we looked to save us! This is the LORD for whom we looked; let us rejoice and be glad that he has saved us!” For the hand of the LORD will rest on this mountain.

On that day they will sing this song in the land of Judah: “A strong city have we; he sets up walls and ramparts to protect us. Open up the gates to let in a nation that is just, one that keeps faith. A nation of firm purpose you keep in peace; in peace, for its trust in you.” Trust in the LORD forever! For the LORD is an eternal Rock. He humbles those in high places, and the lofty city he brings down; He tumbles it to the ground, levels it with the dust. It is trampled underfoot by the needy, by the footsteps of the poor.”

The way of the just is smooth; the path of the just you make level. Yes, for your way and your judgments, O LORD, we look to you; Your name and your title are the desire of our souls.

My soul yearns for you in the night, yes, my spirit within me keeps vigil for you; When your judgment dawns upon the earth, the world’s inhabitants learn justice.

RESPONSORY Luke 23:33; John 19:25; cf. Luke 2:35

When they came to the place called the Skull, they crucified him.
Standing by the cross was his mother.

And her soul a sword of sorrow pierced.
Standing by the cross was his mother.

SECOND READING

From the Address of John Paul II during his visit to Kalwaria Zebrzydowska
(AAS 71 [1979] 839-842)

The witness to the history of the nation

Kalwaria Zebrzydowska, the Shrine of the Mother of God, the “little ways”, as they are called. I visited them often as a boy and as a young man. I visited them as a priest. Especially, I often visited the Shrine of Kalwaria as Archbishop of Krakow and Cardinal. Many times we came here, the priests and I, to concelebrate before the Mother of God. More frequently, however, I came here alone and, walking along the little ways of Jesus Christ and his Mother, I was able to meditate on their holy mysteries and recommend to Christ through Mary the specially difficult and uniquely responsible problems in the complexity of my ministry. I can say that almost none of these problems reached its maturity except here, through ardent prayer before the great mystery of faith that Kalwaria holds within itself.

Kalwaria has something in it that attracts a person. What produces this effect? Perhaps part of it is the natural beauty of the landscape extending to the foot of the Polish Beskid Mountains. It certainly reminds us of Mary going into the hill country to visit Elizabeth. But what chiefly draws a person here again and again is the mystery of the union of the Mother with the Son and of the Son with the Mother. This mystery is recounted in abundant artistic fashion by all the chapels and little churches extending around the central Basilica.

The mystery of the union of the Mother with the Son and of the Son with the Mother on the Way of the Cross and the path of her funeral from the Chapel of the Dormition to the Tomb of Our Lady. Finally, the mystery of their union in glory, recalled by the little ways of the Assumption and the Coronation. The whole of this, well laid out in time and space and covered with the prayer of so many hearts, of so many generations, constitutes a unique living treasury of the faith, hope and charity of the People of God in this land. Every time that I came here I was aware of drawing from that treasury. And I was always aware that the mysteries of Jesus and Mary on which we meditate while praying for the living and the dead are truly inscrutable. We keep coming back to them, and each time we encourage ourselves to return here again and again in order to immerse ourselves in them. In these mysteries is expressed a synthesis of all that is part of our earthly pilgrimage, of all that is part of our “little ways” of daily life. All of this was assumed by the Son of God, and through his Mother it is restored to man again: it is permeated by a new light, without which human life is senseless and remains in the darkness. “He who follows me will not walk in darkness, but will have the light of life”. That is the fruit of my many years of pilgrimage through. the little ways of Kalwaria. The fruit that I am sharing with you today.

That for which I want to give you courage and enthusiasm in this: keep visiting this Shrine. May the Shrine of Kalwaria continue to gather pilgrims, and to serve the Archdiocese of Krakow and the whole of the Church in Poland. May a great work of renewal be accomplished here for men, women, young people, liturgical service of the altar, and for everyone.

And I ask all those who will continue to come here to pray for one of the pilgrims of Kalwaria whom Christ has called with the same words that he spoke to Simon Peter: “Feed my lambs… Feed my sheep”. I ask you to pray for me here during my life and after my death.

RESPONSORY Micah 4:2

Many nations shall come, and say, “Come, let us climb the mount of the LORD”,
He may instruct us in his ways, that we may walk in his paths.

With Mary, Mother of our dedication, let us come to Christ the Redeemer.
He may instruct us in his ways, that we may walk in his paths.

TE DEUM You are God: we praise you.
CONCLUDING PRAYER as in Morning Prayer.

MORNING PRAYER

HYMN

O thou Mother! fount of love!
Touch my spirit from above,
make my heart with thine accord:

Make me feel as thou hast felt;
make my soul to glow and melt
with the love of Christ my Lord.

Holy Mother! pierce me through,
in my heart each wound renew
of my Saviour crucified:

Let me share with thee His pain,
who for all my sins was slain,
who for me in torments died.

Let me mingle tears with thee,
mourning Him who mourned for me,
all the days that I may live:

By the Cross with thee to stay,
there with thee to weep and pray,
is all I ask of thee to give.

While my body here decays,
may my soul Thy goodness praise,
Safe in Paradise with Thee.

Ant. 1 Cease your cries of mourning, wipe the tears from your eyes, for your sorrow shall have its reward.

Psalms and Canticles from Sunday in the First Week.

Ant. 2 Blessed are you, Virgin Mary, for you were granted Christ’s full redemption through his Blood.

Ant. 3 Let us rejoice, partaking in Christ’s suffering.

READING Colossians 1:24-25

Now I rejoice in my sufferings for your sake, and in my flesh I am filling up what is lacking in the afflictions of Christ on behalf of his body, which is the church, of which I am a minister in accordance with God’s stewardship given to me to bring to completion for you the word of God.

RESPONSORY

Show us your ways,
O Mary, who accompanied the Redeemer fully.

Teach us to follow the path of your Son’s suffering.
O Mary, who accompanied the Redeemer fully.

Glory to the Father, and to the Son, and to the Holy Spirit,
Show us your ways, O Mary, who accompanied the Redeemer fully.

CANTICLE OF ZECHARIAH

Ant. Blessed are you who believed that what was spoken to you by the Lord would be fulfilled.

INTERCESSIONS from Common of the Blessed Virgin Mary.

CONCLUDING PRAYER

O Almighty and eternal God,
you gave Blessed Virgin Mary to Christ to help him in the work of our redemption,
grant gracefully that we, reflecting on the paschal mysteries of the Lord, may be given, through Mary’s intercession, graces that we humbly ask for.
Through our Lord Jesus Christ, your Son,
who lives and reigns with you in the unity of the Holy Spirit,
one God, for ever and ever.
Amen.

DAYTIME PRAYER

On Solemnity Complementary psalmody. On Feast Psalms from Proper of Seasons.

Mid-Morning Prayer

Ant. Your soul, Mary, a sword will pierce so that the thoughts of many hearts may be revealed.

READING Isaiah 49:14-15

Zion said, “The Lord has forsaken me; my Lord has forgotten me.” Can a mother forget her infant, be without tenderness for the child of her womb? Even should she forget, I will never forget you.

Blessed are you among women.
And blessed is the fruit of your womb.

Midday Prayer

Ant. At the Cross of Jesus stood Mary, Queen of Heaven and Lady of the World.

READING Isaiah 53:2

He grew up like a sapling before him, like a shoot from the parched earth; There was in him no stately bearing to make us look at him, nor appearance that would attract us to him.

Blessed are you, Mary, who gained the palm of martyrdom without dying.
At the Lord’s Cross.

Mid-Afternoon Prayer

Ant. Said the Lord to his mother, “Woman, behold, your son;” then to the disciple, “Behold, your mother.”

READING Isaiah 53:8

Oppressed and condemned, he was taken away, and who would have thought any more of his destiny? When he was cut off from the land of the living, and smitten for the sin of his people.

Holy Mary, pray for us sinners.
Now and at the hour of our death.

CONCLUDING PRAYER as in Morning Prayer.

EVENING PRAYER II

HYMN

Purest Virgin of virgins
May your goodness make me
Weep with your of grief.

So that I may die with Christ,
Be an image of his Passion,
And feel his own wounds.

Holy Mother! pierce me through,
in my heart each wound renew
of my Saviour crucified:

Let me share with thee His pain,
who for all my sins was slain,
who for me in torments died.

Let me mingle tears with thee,
mourning Him who mourned for me,
all the days that I may live:

By the Cross with thee to stay,
there with thee to weep and pray,
is all I ask of thee to give.

While my body here decays,
may my soul Thy goodness praise,
Safe in Paradise with Thee. Amen.

Ant. 1 My Beloved’s voice, here he comes running through the mountains.

Psalms and Canticles from Common of the Blessed Virgin Mary.

Ant. 2 My Loved say to me “Come then, my beloved, my lovely one, come.”

Ant. 3 Set me like a seal on your heart, for love is strong as Death.

READING Hebrews 4:10-11

To enter the place of rest is to rest after your work, as God did after his. Let us, then, press to forward to enter this place of rest.

RESPONSORY

Stood Mary, Queen of Heaven and Lady of Earth,
At Christ’s Cross.

Without dying she deserved the palm of martyrdom.
At Christ’s Cross.

Glory to the Father, and to the Son, and to the Holy Spirit,
Stood Mary, Queen of Heaven and Lady of Earth. At Christ’s Cross.

CANTICLE OF MARY

Ant. The Lord has looked upon the humiliation of his servant, and he has done great things for me, holy is his name.

INTERCESSIONS from Common of the Blessed Virgin Mary.

CONCLUDING PRAYER as in the Morning Prayer.

Leave a Reply

