September 9, Bl Angela (Aniela) Salawa

September 9
BLESSED ANGELA SALAWA, VIRGIN
Optional memorial
In the Archdiocese of Kraków – Obligatory memorial

Angela Salwa was born on 9 September 1881 in a village called Siepraw near Kraków. In 1897 she went to Kraków and worked as a servant. She realised that God showed her the path of complete dedication to lay neighbours and of constant sacrifice. She joined the Third Order of Saint Francis and lived in a deep unity with Christ. She had mystical experiences that she mentioned in her Diary commissioned by her confessor. She died in Kraków on 12 March 1922. She was beatified by John Paul II in Kraków on 13 August 1991.

Common of Virgins.

[PDF Version]

SECOND READING

From the Dairy of Blessed Angela Salawa
(Warsaw 1989, pp. 85-87)
Contemplative Life is the Treasure of the Church

Reflecting upon my life, I seem to be at a place where I was called to by God since childhood. Ever since I got to know the world I have been driven to suffering and poverty. Ever since childhood I have felt in my soul that only by being in the most humiliating state I should be able to answer to God’s grace. That is why I chose to be a servant voluntarily; to be a servant, despising all happiness that I had been offered, hopeful that in this humiliating state I would be able to answer God’s request.

Therefore, it transpires that in practice I ought to with sincere heart love all the misery that has been presented to me in order to be able to answer this predilection of my youth. Even more so I ought to attempt to answer this grace as I have always felt that God requires more of my soul, no matter how difficult my life would get; aware of the words that “it was not you who chose me, but I who chose you…”

I see in these words that apparently God destined me to this path since childhood. And I feel that I by no means am allowed to wish for a simpler path so that by answering this great grace I might fulfill in my soul the words, “blessed are the eyes that see what you see, and blessed are the ears that hear what you hear.”

The indications on the path of life that God left in this world:
1. In all skirmishes pertaining to the distress others cause, stay firm, moderate, and as silent, patient, slow, peaceful, understanding as possible, and demand justice. If you do so then, rely on God in all the rest, trying not to feel any resentment to the soul.
2. Secondly, bearing in mind that this is my path and aim of my life, I shall be able to accept it all more peacefully, gaining more benefit for my soul so that at the hour of my death I might be able to say, “it is finished.”[1]

RESPONSORY

With love and humbly regard others as more important than yourselves.
Each looking out not for his own interests, but also everyone for those of others.

Support the weak, be patient with all; always seek what is good both for each other and for all.
Each looking out not for his own interests, but also everyone for those of others.

CONCLUDING PRAYER

Give us, O God, the spirit of humility and love,
with which you filled Blessed Angela, virgin, so that her life may be a living sacrifice, holy and pleasing to you,
and grant us through her intercession that we, by living the Gospel, may become more like Christ, your Son.
Who lives and reigns with you in the unity of the Holy Spirit,
one God, for ever and ever.
Amen.

Congregatio de Cultu Divino et Disciplina Sacramentorum. Probatum seu confirmatum, die 6 martii 1992, Prot. CD 21/92.

[1] Translated by DChojnacki (2014).

 

Leave a Reply

