September 25, Bl Ladislaus of Gielniów (Władysław z Gielniowa)

September 25
BLESSED LADISLAUS of GIELNIÓW, PRESBYTER
Obligatory memorial

Ladislaus (Władysław) was born in Gielniów near Opoczno about 1440. He was educated in the Kraków Academy. In the Order of Bernardines, which he had joined, he became known as an extraordinary preacher and creator of religious songs in Polish. He was famous for his great sanctity and special devotion to the Lord’s Passion that he preached about. He was a provincial superior twice. He spent the last years of his life as a guardian in Warsaw. He died in 1505. Pope John XXIII made him patron of Warsaw.

Common of Pastors, or of Religious, except:

OFFICE OF READINGS

SECOND READING

From the treatise of Saint Bonaventure, bishop, “Vitis Mystica”
(Cap. XXIV; Ed. Quaracchi, vol. VIII, 1898)
In the stretching out of His arms, receive His affection

Be strong now and raise thyself aloft, O my miserable soul and on the wings of faith and hope betake thee to this garden of charity, and collect together all the attention of thy mind distracted, go up to that deep Heart; for behold, He who is lifted is yet humbled. He was not lifted up on the Cross that He might be difficult of access, but rather that He might more readily be found. Draw nigh, then, with confidence, recognise Him in the stretching out of His arms, receive His affection. He cries out: “Return, return from thine evil will, from thine evil deeds, from obstinacy, from despair. Return, I say, to Me, thou who hast turned away from Me, that we may look upon thee with the look of grace with which I looked upon the woman who was a sinner and upon the penitent thief!

We may draw near to the most humble Heart of Jesus the most High through the gate of His spear-stricken side. There, indeed, is hidden an ineffable treasure of charity greatly to be desired. There is new devotion ever found. Thence is drawn forth the grace of tears. There is learned gentleness, patience in adversity, and compassion for the afflicted. Especially is a contrite and a humble heart found there. He waits that He may embrace thee. His Head is pierced with many points of thorns, and He bows it down to thee, as though He said to thee: Behold after which fashion I have been formed, how I have been pierced, how I have been slain, in order that I may lay thee on My shoulders – thee My sheep which had gone astray – and bring thee back to the pastures of Paradise. Be moved with compassion over My wounds: and put Me – such as thou seest Me now, – as a seal upon thy heart, as a seal upon thine arm, so that in all the thoughts of thy heart, and in all the works of thine arm, thou mayest be formed like unto Me. I had conformed thee to the image of My Godhead, when I created thee: I was conformed to the image of thy manhood, that I might reform thee. For this cause was I made Man and visible, that I might be seen and loved by thee, whereas in My Godhead when I was invisible I was not loved. Give thyself, then, to Me as the reward of My Incarnation and My Passion: since it was for thee I gave Myself both to be incarnate and to suffer. [1]

RESPONSORY Galatians 6:14; Habakkuk 3:18

But may I never boast except in the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ,
Through which the world has been crucified to me, and I to the world.

Yet will I rejoice in the Lord and exult in my saving God.
Through which the world has been crucified to me, and I to the world.

CONCLUDING PRAYER as in Morning Prayer.

MORNING PRAYER

HYMN

The day of Ladislaus’s glory shines through
May the people rejoice with such a mighty patron
And praise Christ, King of the universe
With a heartfelt song.

A happy man who, loving the Cross,
Despised of the illusion of earthly pleasures
And of his own will suffered like a martyr
Though no one would hurt him.

The zealous herald of Evangelical counsels
Formed disciples with the example of his virtue,
He roused the souls with burning words
And the life full of sanctity.

At his request, O God Creator,
Release sinners from the weight of guilt
So that that we may worship you with a hymn
Of thanksgiving for ever and ever. Amen.

CANTICLE OF ZECHARIAH

Ant. We proclaim Christ crucified, who to those who are called is the power of God and the wisdom of God.

CONCLUDING PRAYER

O God,
you made Blessed Ladislaus, Presbyter, a devotee and advocate of Christ’s cross,
grant through his intercession, that we, as participants of Christ’s sufferings, may be filled with joy when he is revealed in glory.
Who lives and reigns with you in the unity of the Holy Spirit,
one God, for ever and ever.
Amen.

EVENING PRAYER

CANTICLE OF MARY

Ant. If anyone wishes to come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross daily and follow me.

[1] “Vitis Mystyica,” London, R. Washbourne, 1873. Adjusted by DChojnacki.

 

Leave a Reply

